The Leonard Graphic

Home Eye of the Tiger Headlines Elementary school holds assembly

Elementary school holds assembly

E-mail Print PDF
User Rating: / 0

May 26, 2011 - The staff at Leonard Elementary held a year-end awards assembly for each grade Monday morning, to honor each student for their personal achievements during this school year. Each teacher took a turn to recognize the students in their class one-by-one and present them with certificates, medals and trophies for their various individual successes. Presenting were kindergarten teachers Joyce Scott, Sheri Watson and Kristi Wortham, first grade teachers Bethani Knight, Kristi Malone and Andrea Scoggins, second grade teachers Annie Alexander, Kacie Maxwell and Karla Walker, and third grade teachers Tammy Barnes, Amber Dameron, Kacy Garner and Jennifer Scoggins.

In addition to classroom awards, Wendy Blackburn presented awards to the top two Accelerated Reader point earners in each grade (first grade and up). Awards were presented to first graders Krissie Noriega and Reagan Whitehouse, second graders Raven Fox and Nakita Harris, and third graders Angel Reyes and Trey Connelly. Harris also received an additional award and gift for having the most AR points overall - 218.6 - for the campus.

Elementary Principal Brad Maxwell also presented certificates to those students participating in the UIL Academic contests and awarded those who placed at the district meet. Second graders receiving certificates were creative writing team members Nakita Harris, Madison Vaughn, Savannah Johnson and Ashleigh Butler, and storytelling team members Ashleigh Butler, Jacie Doyle, Allison Cooper and Annie Ukpe. At the UIL meet, Ashleigh Butler received fourth place in storytelling, and in creative writing, Nakita Harris received sixth, Ashley Butler received fifth and Madison Vaughn received second. Third graders receiving certificates for participation were Maddison Carpenter, Bryce Jurca, Brooke Blackerby, Alex Fleming, Breanna Newton, Lindsey Dills, Heidi Vibbert, Trey Connelly, Aaron Bennett, Jeana Brewer, Audrey Shaw and Blake Schur. Receiving awards for placing at the UIL meet were as follows: ready writing - Brooke Blackerby, fifth; storytelling - Maddison Carpenter, sixth; music memory team consisting of Bryce Jurca, Breanna Newton and Lindsey Dills, first place. The third grade music memory sponsors also received recognition for teaching the group.

Maxwell also recognized the students from each grade that participated in the Six Flags Read To Succeed program, which required an additional six hours of reading outside of regular reading required for homework or school. Those students completing the program and receiving a free ticket to Six Flags were as follows: kindergarten - Jacey Foster, Tanner Grady, Diamond Hart, Sara Westbrook, Austin Conner, Lainey Johnson, Dylan Kemp, Kristyn Ketcherside, Arturo Loera, Addy Lyday, Cali Stephens, Triniti Zachary, Noah Criger, Garrett Crouch, Zy Kent, Shelby Mendez and Trent Newby; first grade - Dylan Daugherty, Dakota Davis, Bryson Lokey, Jonathan Nelson, Deaven Reichert, Dalton Doyle, Tyler Newby, Maci Partridge, Kyle Proctor, Hunter Reaves, Reagan Whitehouse, Nicole Albert, J.T. Flanagan, Josilyn Grady, Clayton Haney, Allie Maxwell, Belicia Mott and Tessa Malone; second grade - Will Albert, Ashley Klaus, Marissa Majeau, Madison Nelson, Brenley Sadler, Kenna Kelley, Tyson Burgess, Nakita Harris, Nathaniel Harris, Savannah Johnson, Madison Reaves, Savannah Albert, Xavier Bollin, Ashleigh Butler, Allison Cooper, Jacie Doyle, Madison Vaughn and Bethany Ward; third grade - Makynzie Price, Daniel Waldrop, Patrick Westbrook, Trey Connelly, Heidi Vibbert, Mackenize Whitehouse, Samantha Porter, Blake Schur and Josalynn Zamarripa.

In closing, Maxwell called the third graders to stand in front of the audience and announced that they had scored at least 90 percent on the reading and math portions of the TAKS. While that alone would've previously qualified for an exemplary campus rating - as they have received for several years under Maxwell's direction - there are other criteria now evaluated in order to receive that distinction. That information will be released at a later date. Maxwell further wished the third graders well as they will move from the elementary campus to the intermediate campus for fourth grade next year.

Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment



February 2017
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 1 2 3 4

Information Menu

Contact Us
Web Links

Login Form